The problem with arguing with (most) religious people about religion.

When it comes down to trying to get them to understand something scientific, evolution for example, most people either don’t understand it, or they haven’t tried to understand it because they don’t want to. Science isn’t something you just take on faith, it presents physical, observable evidence. If that isn’t enough for you to be convinced, then the problem of you not understanding would stem from intrinsic stubbornness rather than whether or not I can present accurate evidence as to whether or not evolution is real.

Now, you can look at an apple and tell me it’s an orange all you want, but at the end of the day you’re still calling it an orange because for some reason you don’t understand that it’s an apple. It still presents the evidence of being an apple. It looks like an apple. I can test it. It’s observable as an apple. I don’t have to take it on faith that it’s an apple because I can prove that it is. If you don’t want to acknowledge that it’s an apple because for thousands of years people have been calling it an orange based on a book with a lot of stories that promises you eternal life in some sort of utopia because you call the apple an orange, that is another problem entirely.

About thatcatkatie
I came to this site to discuss my beliefs, and yours too, and hopefully learn some things from my fellow human beings.

4 Responses to The problem with arguing with (most) religious people about religion.

  1. thatcatkatie says:

    This is happening to me right now.

  2. notabarbie says:

    I was having a discussion with a Christian recently and he told me he didn’t believe in evolution. I asked why. He said, “Who can believe that there are some cells and then suddenly they become a human being?” Although I’m used to debating with Christians, I have to admit that my jaw dropped. I think I may have even laughed. I try not to do that, but I think I did it to keep my head from exploding. To be fair his jaw dropped when I told him I don’t believe in the Devil. Geez…us.

Leave a Reply

