Why I don’t believe.

This post could be a lot longer than what I’m planning for it to be, but I’m going to narrow it down to a few major points.

  1. God isn’t necessary to explain the world. Ancient peoples likely created a concept of God/Gods to explain the world, especially since the world’s major religions came to light and gained followers in times before great scientific discoveries. Not only is there no reason to think that any God must have created the world, there’s no good reason to just believe so. God is also not necessary to explain or enforce morality. People often have a tendency to see a coincidence and feel a need to attach higher meaning to it, with no good evidence to do so.
  2. Not only is the concept of a God unnecessary, there is no good reason to believe that such a being (or beings) exists. Meaning, I don’t not believe in God because I hate the idea (I’m surprised that people actually think this about me, to be honest), nor do I harbor any anger for something which I do not believe exists, but I see no evidence to suggest that He does exist. If I see no good reason to believe a claim is real, then the reasonable position is to not believe unless I am otherwise presented some evidence that would give me a good reason to believe God exists.
  3. Just because I cannot prove any one God does not exist, does not mean that it must exist. I cannot prove that Zeus does not exist, but does that mean that he therefore must exist? Absolutely not. Also, you cannot say with certainty that such a thing is unknowable – we do not have the total amount of knowledge the universe has to offer, so therefore we do not know what we have yet to discover or understand, and that means that we cannot know if such a concept is unknowable. Simply put, we may come across some information eventually that enables us to prove/disprove a God – but you cannot reasonably or rationally say that because something is not known, that that means it must be true.
  4. I cannot logically accept that any intelligent being would use one measly human lifetime to determine where our supposed soul would go for an eternity. Our time spent alive is a mere blip compared to the time which surrounds our birth and death.
  5. Many scientific findings, which hold proof, conflict with religious teachings, which do not hold proof.
  6. Religious teachings and holy texts are the works of man, who is fallible, and therefore I have no good reason to believe that they are true or valid. For example, in terms of Christianity specifically, no accounts of Jesus were written down until 140 years or so after his death, only passed by word of mouth – so it hard to ascertain to validity of what was written. Even if a God did exist, I do not think that we have any idea of this being, his will, or can even conceive the idea of such a being. I also think that people tend to label things as God when they really mean the natural laws which govern the universe or the emotional experience of being human – meaning, not an actual aware being, just phenomenons they have no good way of explaining.
  7. Religious texts often contradict themselves. If they were the teachings of an omniscient, omnipotent God then there would be no mistakes or contradictions.
  8. Just because the idea offers comfort to some, this is not a good reason to believe. Truth is truth, fact is fact – it does not care how you feel about it, what is just is.
About thatcatkatie
I came to this site to discuss my beliefs, and yours too, and hopefully learn some things from my fellow human beings.

9 Responses to Why I don’t believe.

  1. chicagoja says:

    If God could talk he likely would say the very words in your last line. Very funny indeed. Consider this: God might exist even if religion has it all wrong. Arguing against religious belief in God is child’s play, whereas arguing that God doesn’t exist is impossible.

    • thatcatkatie says:

      Arguing against religious belief is child’s play? I’m trying very hard not to be insulted by this, but basically what I’m taking from this is an idea of “silly atheist, your beliefs are pointless and you should stop tiresomely discussing them.” I hope I misunderstand you, but if that’s your viewpoint I have to say I have no interest in discussing this with someone who refuses to take me seriously.

      I already acknowledged, in several posts, that my atheism is for the gods that this world has thought of – the ones earth’s many religions describe and try to define. I have said that if there is a God, that is not a concept humanity understands, nor is it something that any religion to date as defined – but since I can’t define such a being nor is there any evidence to suggest its existence, I also have no logical reason to believe it exists, either.

  2. john zande says:

    You nailed it in the first sentence: God isn’t necessary to explain the world.

    People debate the existence or non-existence of god. I take a different line: i’ve tried to find a reason why the universe would even require a god.

    Long story short, i haven’t found one single reason.

  3. john zande says:

    I hear you 🙂

    Following!

  4. Matt says:

    I appreciated reading this, and can honestly say that I think I know where you’re coming from. I’ve wrestled with several of these questions as well.

    I’ve compiled a similar list of reasons why I *DO* believe in God (specifically, the Christian God)…just in case you’re interested. 🙂

    http://wellspentjourney.wordpress.com/evidence-for-christianity/

  5. savinokeith says:

    I appreciate your frank discussion and the fact that you have taken the time to ponder these important questions. I have also written about similar ideas, but classify myself as agnostic due to one key question: why is there something rather than nothing? I wrote a piece stating that until there is a clear explanation for how the universe can even exist with all it’s material and laws of physics/chemistry, there must be something beyond our existance that created our universe. To my understanding, there is no real explanation for what occured before the Big Bang and why it occured, so to me my only explanation is essentially a Supreme Creator, although I admit I don’t know why It would want to create this universe and what is expected from us. I’d appreciate any thoughts you have, and if you are curious about my thoughts on these things I have a few blog entries you can check out.

Leave a Reply

