The thing about atheism.

The thing about atheism is that, if you’re not running into those who are just labeling themselves as such on principal and without much research, is that people really misunderstand it.

It isn’t something we readily label ourselves with to set ourselves apart. It isn’t necessarily a ‘movement’ of sorts. It isn’t any one set of beliefs or characteristics that unites multiple atheists (unless the individual atheists want it to be). It’s not a religious belief, because I’m not taking anything on faith. It’s a default position.

It’s a default position to not believe something for which there is no proof, until or unless someone can present proof for their case. Atheism is that for me more than anything else. This site is about the only place I come to talk about the ideas that I have as they relate to religion, atheism, and agnosticism. But I do not assert there is no god – I do however assert that there is no such god as the world’s religions would view this being. I think that if there is a God, although unlikely and still there is no reason to assume so, this being is not a concept that humanity understands. He has not inspired any chosen people with His divine teachings. Hell, I’m not even sure that if some supernatural creature created the universe that it would be interested in us afterwards.

I am an atheist because the world of religion is contradictory and subjective, there are no objective reasons to believe in any religion on this planet. Not one of them holds any definitive proof. If there were proof, I would not be an atheist. I am not an atheist on principal, but I do seek the truth on principal – and truth and research has brought me to an atheistic view of the world.

Atheism can be more, but before it is anything else, it is this. Some people skip over this so fast they forget to contemplate it. Atheism can be a movement – to the right people. However, I personally would view secularism as the movement (which I fully support) and you don’t have to be atheist to be a secularist.

About thatcatkatie
I came to this site to discuss my beliefs, and yours too, and hopefully learn some things from my fellow human beings.

6 Responses to The thing about atheism.

  1. john zande says:

    That’s an excellent point: secularism is a movement, atheism is not. I couldn’t agree with you more on this distinction. That’s certainly more “meaningful” (if that’s the right word???) than this silly Atheism+

    • thatcatkatie says:

      I’m glad you liked the post! I made this mistake myself at the beginning of my atheism – I viewed it as a movement. I’m not saying there’s nothing to be gained by this – they’re getting the information out there and people should know all sides of an argument before they just decide to believe something. But now, I understand what I want is secularism. I don’t care if everyone is atheist, I’m not actively trying to get people to deconvert, I just want a secular society.

  2. john zande says:

    Reblogged this on the superstitious naked ape and commented:
    This is a truly excellent post. The distinction between secularism and atheism is spot on.

  3. makagutu says:

    oh yes, that point has to be said again and again till the chicken come home šŸ™‚

  4. Secularism as a concept is much more critical for society than atheism – not least because people on either side of belief and none sometimes try to polarise the debate with the word. Secularism is freedom of religion and the liberty to be an infidel without penalty, and be a believer without favour. My atheist blog has over time reflected that distinction, not least my latest post https://homoeconomicusnet.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/ethics-beyond-religion/

Leave a Reply

