The ‘immortal’ jellyfish

This is by no means ‘new’ to the world, but it’s something I read about a few years and I decided it’s just too awesome not to share.

There is a species of jellyfish which ages backwards once it has aged forward and reached adulthood – it never dies, at least, not because of aging. The jellyfish has the ability to transform all of its cells into their beginning stages, it can even reform muscle cells to nerve cells when it reverts back to this stage. It’s a lot more complicated than it sounds, however, and I’m not exactly a biologist of any sort – so here’s the information http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2009/01/090130-immortal-jellyfish-swarm.html

Back to studying for finals.

About thatcatkatie
I came to this site to discuss my beliefs, and yours too, and hopefully learn some things from my fellow human beings.

One Response to The ‘immortal’ jellyfish

  1. Don’t forget the lobsters. I think I’m right in saying that the evidence suggests lobsters might be able to live forever, in theory at least. That just blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

